Banting Pumpkin Pie

I ADORE pumpkin pie with fresh cream. At the same time I need to Bant to get lean and mean for the upcoming Golden Goat Awards – I intend to take that trophy, Old Goat!

IMG_1521What to do? I have all these gorgeous home grown pumpkins staring at me! No problem – I used my downtime this weekend (thank you cold virus) to develop a Banting recipe from an ordinary recipe.

You will need 800g of cooked mashed pumpkin – the real deal, get back butternut!

Whisk 4 eggs with 250ml of pouring cream and add to the pumpkin. Then stir in 1/4 cup of coconut flour, 1/4 cup coconut, 1 cup xylitol and 2 tsp baking powder. The mixture should be medium sloppy (technical cooking term!)

Grease a rectangular pie dish with butter (I hate those sprays – we don’t know what chemicals lurk in there). Slop pumpkin mixture into dish and bake at 180 degrees C for 30 minutes. Take pie out and sprinkle with cinnamon and then bake for a further 30 minutes.

If you divide the pie into 25 bits your macronutrient info per portion is as follows:

Carb  2.17g           Fat  5.27g          Protein  1.73

I had two portions for breakfast this morning with 50ml of cream poured over it giving me a perfect Banting breakfast of 5.8g carbs, 29g fat and 4.5g of protein. How’s that!

 

4 thoughts on “Banting Pumpkin Pie

  1. llucop

    Hi ya, just wondering, my traditional recipe calls for cinnamon and nutmeg in the actual batter. What do you think about that? What about crust, is there any room for almond meal biscuity crust in this pie? Thanks for the recipe, will try it as soon as I can with the additions mentioned.

    Reply
    1. lowlyj Post author

      Hi there, I’m sure cinnamon and nutmeg in the batter would be awesome – good idea! I’m far too lazy to bother with a crust – lol. But if you use almond meal it would still be Banting friendly but a bit higher in carbs which is not ideal for everyone. Enjoy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

